How God’s Plan Prepared Me to Be a Safari Guide – COM 461L Reflection

Last year, I didn’t make it on the Leadership Safari Guide staff.

I was upset, of course. I wracked my brain, wondering what I had or hadn’t done to have

IMG_8809
For some reason, every day in this class, all four of us would have apples to snack on??

not gotten a spot on staff. After some thought, I realized that there was more I could have done during training and I took that into account. However, there was something else: I needed to have taken this class, Communication in Leadership, before I could become a guide.

This class wasn’t a requirement to be a Safari Guide, but I believe there is a plan for my life and I was simply not ready and equipped last year to become a guide yet. After taking this class, I feel that I am now more equipped to handle the responsibility and curveballs that come with being a Safari Guide, and maybe that’s why I finally made it onto Safari Guide staff this year!

In this class, we discussed the different group dynamics, different types of followers, the many things that make or break a leader and the way they communicate themselves and to others, and so much more that surrounds those topics. There were so many moments when I thought, “Wow, that’s pretty applicable to me.”

For example, one thing that I was worried about when I made Safari was that my freshman group wouldn’t respect me, or that they would simply disregard my authority. However, in this class, one topic that we covered was things that help or hinder the way

IMG_2830
My pal Ash and I waiting for class to start! Shortly after this picture was taken, we bonked heads.

followers respect the leader, as well as the leaders’ confidence. To further explain, one thing that could hinder the perceived authority of the leader is when they use filler words, such as like, um, so, kind of, and others (guilty). Another things is posture, and how good posture can emulate good leadership, where bad posture can be harmful to your authority (also guilty hehe). One more thing was discrediting yourself by casually asking for validation on what you said, like “does that make sense?” or “…I don’t know, that’s just what I think.” (again, guilty). Overall though, I think the most important part when leading and communicating with others is to be confident in yourself and your ability to guide and help people.

Now that I’ve gained all these pointers and lessons on how to properly communicate with people as a leader, I can take it with me as I take on a whole new challenge in my leadership journey. In just a few short months, I’ll be able to hold a big ol’ Parakeet sign, rock some khaki shorts, and ring in some fresh new faces in the best way that I know how: by keeping them and their perspective of this new campus, the crowds around them, and even of me, in mind. Seeing things from their perspective, while also staying confident in myself and in them will allow me to guide them into this new chapter with grace, poise, and success.

After this class, I can think about that coming week and say, “Bring. It. On.”

Leave a comment